Technics RS DC8 search track issues

Hello all,
I recently got a Technics RS DC8 DCC deck from ebay.
The deck is working great with DCC tapes and ACC tapes. The only problem I have is the track search fast forward and reverse. With ACC tapes it works fine but with DCC tapes it just skips the tracks like the markers are not there. It’s not that he doesn’t create markers because it does sees the track numbers and counts from there. Also the reverse, next and End skip while playing is working good.
What could be the issue here? Head not working properly?
Regards,
Mark

@Mark , Hi and welcome to the forum. I am so envious of your DC8, what a gorgeous machine. Sorry I cannot help with your issue as I have no Technics experience as yet. Have you checked the service manual, sometimes bulletins were added to service manuals for some issues. I sure a knowledgeable Technics user may be able to help you more. When I get similar issues on my Philips/Marantz machines, I just assume the tapes were not recorded correctly in the first place, I bought quite a number off ebay many years ago and I think its clear the previous owner was struggling with the concept of recording to dcc.

My first suggestion would be that the control track on the heads, that is where the track information is stored, is not reading correctly.

That would be track 0.

So have you tried cleaning the head thoroughly with 96% alkohol and cotton tips? Always grab the chassis first when applying the tip to the head to discharge yourself from static electricity, as that will surely damage the head.

Secondly, try skipping to the next track on a prerecorded cassette. Then we know for sure that the cassette was recorded properly with the correct markers. It should surely work there.

Try these first and work from there.

-Philip.

1 Like

Hi Philips,
I cleaned the head. But that was a while ago. I expect a pre recorded tape soon. I haven’t tried that…
Thanks!
Mark

You could try cleaning the head again.