Technics RS-DC10 plays intermittently

Hi,
I’m a total newbie here so please be gentle ;->

I have a dcc deck that came with a Technics stereo system I bought a couple of decades ago that I have never used. My recollection is that it worked fine for a bit then started acting up on dcc tapes. It plays analog tapes fine but the dcc output is kind of regularly intermittent every second or so. I have only tried it with pre-recorded tapes and it happens with all of them. The meters show the drop outs even though they are very short. Occasionally it will play a few minutes before acting up. I haven’t tried recording anything to see what it does.

I have the service manual and I’m not completely unfamiliar with electronics but the thing is really surplus to requirements so I don’t want to spend lots of time and money on it just to junk it. If anyone has some possible easy fix suggestions or troubleshooting procedures I’d love to hear 'em - clean the heads? aztec(?) angle?

In any event it’s going up on eBay but I don’t hold out much hope for a sale being all the way down under in New Zealand.

Thanks for your help and kudos to you folks keeping old tech alive!

Hyram

Hi and welcome,
There is no quick fix, but there is a chance to restore.

Technics DCC RS DC10 Digital Compact Cassette Repair. Serviced with new SMD Capacitors

Does the problem occur on birth side A and B? And does an amazing tape really sound finger or do you have some wow and clutter?

If it only occurs on one side of the cassette, and the interruption is once every second or so, the problem could be a pinch roller.

===Jac

Auto correct is a pain sometimes…

Let’s try that again.

Does the problem occur on both side A and B? And does an analog tape really sound great or do you have some wow and flutter?

If it only occurs on one side of the cassette, and the interruption is once every second or so, the problem could be a pinch roller.

===Jac

1 Like

Jac,