DCC600 head adjustment?

First of all: It’s so nice to see there still are many DCC users :-).

After many years of collecting dust, I decided to get my DCC600 playing again (I bought it new back in the days).

I thought I successfully replaced the two belts. However, now it is playing analog cassettes with the left channel 6 dB lower than the right channel. Also, it cannot play a prerecorded dcc cassette. It keeps on trying but stops after a dozen of try’s…

To me it looks like a misalignment of the head, but I cannot find a way to make adjustments and since I’m not an expert, I could easily be wrong making that conclusion…

Do you guys have an idea what the problem could be?

Best regards from Holland,
Wim

1 Like

Hi Wimek, welcome to the forums!

You really shouldn’t adjust the head in a DCC recorder. The way DCC heads are constructed, the extra pins on the head assembly and in the cassette take care of leading the tape across the head at a perfect angle. Even if the head assembly is not mounted exactly straight, the azimuth correction pins will compensate for it.

You can use the service menu with a prerecorded (or known-good self-recorded) DCC cassette to check if all the heads are generating a good signal. You will probably see dropouts on some tracks some of the time. That’s okay, the DCC system is designed to recover up to 1/8th of the data so even if one head is non-functional, it can still play the tape; however as soon as another head drops out for just a little bit, it won’t be able to recover the data.