DCC newbie restoring a Technics RS-DC10

Hi everyone, I am new to DCC, but I have restored some vintage electronics before (self-taught amateur)

I have a Technics RS-DC10 on the way in the mail, so I don’t yet know too much about its condition. Seller claims it works with analog tapes, untested with digital tapes. Been in storage for a long time.

I understand that the capacitors definitely need to be replaced right away. Does anyone have a list of which capacitor values I need; so I can order them and have them at the ready when my player arrives? Thanks!

1 Like

Hi and welcome.

These are the values for the capacitors.

2,2µF/35V/BP - 1 - Nichicon UMP1V2R2MDD
4,7µF/16V/BP - 2 - Nichicon UMP1C4R7MDD
10µF/16V - 9 - Nichicon UMV1C100MFD
22µF/6V3 - 1 - Nichicon UMV0J220MFD
68µF/10V - 4 - Panasonic EEA-GA1A680

3 Likes

Do you have access to a hot-air desoldering station for surface-mount components? If not, then be extremely careful when removing the old capacitors. The circuit traces on those boards are very thin, and the crud that comes out of those leaky surface-mount caps just loves to get underneath the conformal coating and eat away the traces, or undermine the pads so that they’ll lift off and break away at the slightest stress.

(Also, note that the part #s drdcc gave above are for the through-hole equivalent capacitors, not the surface-mount ones.)

4 Likes

Cool; thanks! I do have a soldering station with a hot air thingy. Thanks for the tip; I will try to be careful so as to not tear off the circuit board traces.

Some sellers have so-called “hi-fi audio” capacitors. Does this actually matter, or is it just snake oil?

1 Like