DCC 900 - Quiet on left channel on analog playback (Post-Recap)

Hey all, ran into a roadblock with something that’s still very new to me, and the only thing I can think to do now is ask somebody else for help.

To start, I’m brand new to the DCC format. I’m a college student who finds stuff like this and repairs it as a hobby, and recently found this Philips DCC 900 last weekend at a local swap meet for only 20 bucks, in a cosmetically new shape. Since I have no DCC tapes to test it with, when playing with an analog tape all I got was an incredibly quiet output on the right channel only, and no sound at all on the left. After looking around some more and finding DrDCC’s video on a recap, Sure enough, both of my boards were slowly being eaten away by old caps. I bought the exact same caps shown in the video off of Digi-Key, and swapped them out without much trouble. The traces didn’t look substantially damaged, and I thourgouly cleaned the whole board before soldering with isopropyl alchohol. And while I wouldn’t call myself a genius when it comes to soldering, It seemed to me that I made a solid connection on all pads, which all seemed to be present.

Here’s a before and after of the worst example of corrosion:

And here’s my terrible solder job:

(residue on this board was some leftover isopropyl alcohol that hadn’t dissovled yet when I cleaned it a second time.)

Now when powered up with the new caps, while the right audio channel now sounds perfectly normal, the left channel is just quiet instead of dead. so far I’ve tried messing with some of the pots near the headphone out port, but to no avail.

Is there anything else I should try, or should I just sell it for parts? Thanks in advance.

-Payton

1 Like

Hi Payton,

The boards look ok. Seen far worse. As you can see in many of our videos (See the Techncis RSDC10 restoration on YT), there could also be a problem with the side A-B connections.

Ralf

Hey,