Blowing the head of DCC 730 and DCC951

Yesterday it was the 3rd time I blew a head of a 3rd gen DCC player. And now I’m afraid of doing anything else on a player other than replacing pinch rollers and cleaning the head.

I really don’t know why this happens. Normally I replace the caps when needed and apart from that everything remains roughly the same. I have a lot of experience in electronic repairs (and I am certified).

The player can play DCC cassettes for many hours (I test them on my desk while I am working), and without hick-up, or any other distortion.

But then it happens: after making 1 (yes only one) recording, the player will never play a tape again (i.e. no sound). I switched boards and cables from other, perfect players, and it seems like he head is gone. There’s no sound whatsoever. And after playing the recording on another DCC player, there’s also no sound.

Has anyone seen this happening? I’m stunned this happens so often. Can someone explain what happens? Is it a broken read/write board, or chip?
I do not dare to try the probably defective read/write board in another player, risking I blow that head too, while making a recording.

Thanks for sharing your experience :wink:

1 Like

Oh my word! What a tragedy!
Did you replace the heads on the recorders? When playing back all is fine, as soon as you record the head blows…

As far as I know every head has it’s own specific recording current. It is written on a sticker on its leads. For playback it doesn’t matter. If your read write board is giving too much current to the new head I figure that might me the cause… but ai in no way an expert… maybe @drdcc or @Jac can give you the correct reason why…

After refurbishing, each player played perfectly for a long time, 100% and without any errors. I rarely record music on DCC tapes myself.